Mixed feelings for wards

THREE out of six submissions received by the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) regarding the electoral representation review have suggested the Alpine Shire be divided into three wards and increase councillor representation from seven to nine.

The VEC commenced the review in late February and residents had until March 25, to make submissions on what would be a “fair and equitable representation for all voters”.

Bright and District Ratepayers Association president Jim Bates made a submission which proposed the addition of two more councillors.

Mr Bates proposed the Alpine Shire become three ridings along similar lines to the old shires of Bright, Myrtleford and Mt Beauty.

“The three ridings would be as follows – Bright and environs – Bright; Harrietville, Mt Hotham, Porepunkah, Wandiligong and Freeburgh; Myrtleford and environs – Myrtleford, Barwidgee Creek, Mudgegonga, Buffalo River, Whorouly and Eurobin; and Kiewa Valley – Mt Beauty, Falls Creek, Tawonga, Tawonga South, Dederang and Gundowring,” he said.

To continue reading this story, click here to access our digital edition


By Phone

03 5752 1058

Fax: 03 5752 2627

When to book

Observer & Times Classifieds

3pm Monday

North East Jobs

3pm Friday

Selling a car

Two weeks advertising with picture from only $29

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!